Student Led Teaching Awards

The Results are in…

After the close of nominations, our student judges met and have gone through nearly 100 nominations for Student Led Teaching Awards. 

FUSA and the student judge’s panel are proud to announce the following winners:

College of Business Government and Law

Winner: Dr Philip Palmer, Senior Lecturer in Business

Honourable Mention:  Dr Rong Zhu, Senior Lecturer in Business Economics

 College of Education, Psychology and Social Work

Winner: Joss Rankin, Senior Lecturer in Initial Teacher Education

Honourable Mention: Dr. Julie Mattiske, Senior Lecturer in Psychology

College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Winner: Dr. James Kane, Lecturer in History
Honourable Mention: Dr. Sarah Peters, Senior Lecturer in Drama and Dr. Olga Sanchez Castro, Lecturer in Spanish 

College of Medicine and Public Health

Winner: James Pearce, Lecturer in Paramedic Science

Honourable Mention: Dr. Helen Harrison, Lecturer, Teaching Specialist Physiology

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Winner: Professor Nicola Anstice, Professor in Optometry

Honourable Mention: Dr. Amanda Muller, Senior Lecturer in Registered Health Professions and Lisa Reid, PhD Candidate and Tutor in Nursing

College of Science and Engineering

Winner: Dr. Michael Haythorpe
Honourable Mention: Kirsty Chalker, Tutor in Mathematics

TA that Saved the Day

Winner: Jordan Oatway, Laboratory and Workshop Demonstrator in CHEM1202 

Honourable Mention: Jasper Denton, PhD Candidate and Sessional Academic in SOCI1001; Reid Honan, PhD Candidate and Teaching Assistant in COMP2711

Most Supportive Supervisor

Winner: Professor Eva Kemps, Professor in Psychology, and Associate Professor Andrekos Varnava, Associate Professor in History

And the University Ducks in Teaching goes to…

Joss Rankin, Lecturer in Initial Teacher Education in the College of Education, Psychology and Social Work.

Congratulations to everyone!  

What are Student Led Teaching Awards?

Student Led Teaching Awards are a way for students to celebrate and encourage positive learning experiences. We want to highlight and encourage best practice in teaching and learning at Flinders through recognising the staff that achieve this with us. All students could nominate staff from 11 October – 12 November. You can find out more here: .Our student judges met on 26 November and determined the winners based on the strength of the nominations received from the student community.

Who were the judges?

Our judges panel was drawn from across the University. In 2021 they were:

Sean Henschke is the 2021 Student President of the Flinders University Students Association (FUSA). Previously, they have been elected General Secretary and Queer Officer of FUSA.

Anu Francis is the Disabilities Officer on the Student Council of FUSA and undertaking a Bachelor of Exercise Science. Anu is also a Course Representative for Clinical Exercise Physiology in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Eva Coussens is a Course Representative in Criminology, in the College of Business, Government and Law. Eva has also served on the College Education Committee, the Student Progress Committee in CBGL and on the Course Quality Advisory Group.

Imogen Lymbery is an Archaeology student and Course Representative in the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences. Imogen sits on the Student Advisory Committee and College Education Committee.

Liwen Seto is a former Topic Representative in the College of Science and Engineering. Liwen is also an associate trainer in the academic representation program, training other student representatives. Liwen also sits on the CSE Student Success Committee.

Naomi Davey is a Course Representative in the College of Education, Psychology and Social Work for Master of Education students. Naomi also sits on the College Education Committee. 

What happens next?

Our winners have now been informed. They’ll be receiving their awards shortly. We’re hoping to bring this back next year – keep an eye out!

Best in FLO Award

Returning in 2021 is Best in FLO – the showcase of the smartest and most effective use of digital learning, the stuff that goes above and beyond.

Last year ‘Best in FLO’ recognised alignment with the on Digital Learning guidelines. This is covered in 8 key areas:

1. Topic overview, welcome and orientation
2. Learning outcomes
3. Assessment and feedback
4. Learning resources
5. Learning activities, engagement and learner interaction
6. Technology and online tools
7. Support for learning
8. Accessibility and useability

The winner will receive the Best in FLO Award and a $200 gift voucher. The shortlisted nominations will go up in the Practice examples collection being compiled by the Centre for Innovation in Learning and Teaching.

The student who submitted the winning nomination will receive a $50 gift voucher.